Tigers, Wolves draw District 8

GTNS file photo

New London’s Connor Schoenbein connects with the ball in a plate appearance earlier this season.
GTNS file photo New London’s Connor Schoenbein connects with the ball in a plate appearance earlier this season.

District groupings were released last week for Class 1A and 2A baseball, and there are plenty of familiar faces in the local district. New London and Winfield-Mt. Union were both placed in District 8, alongside six other Southeast Iowa squads.

In one of the most up-for-grabs districts in either class, the top record goes to Keota, who is currently sitting at 9-3. The Eagles are the only non-Southeast Iowa Super Conference squad in the group, and have yet to play any teams from the district. They’re led by freshman phenom Colton Clarahan, who hits .514. The pitching staff has been dominant all year, sitting at a team ERA of 2.09.

If the district tournament began today, New London and W-MU would likely be the seventh and eighth seeded teams in the eight-team district. That means either the Tigers or Wolves will likely take on the one seed when the district tournament begins.

Between potential top-seed Keota and the two Henry County teams are five squads that all have similar records with over half of the season being played. Notre Dame (8-4), Cardinal (9-5), Iowa Mennonite (8-5), Pekin (9-6) and Highland (7-6) round out the rest of the District 8 field.

New London is currently 1-3 against other teams in the distrit. The Tigers beat Pekin 12-7 on the road, thanks in part to a 4-5 day from Darius Whaley where he had two triples and four RBIs. They’ve fallen 11-1 and 6-1 against Cardinal, and they were walked off by Notre Dame, 7-6.

The Tigers have nine games left on the year. They’ve won three of their last five contests.

W-MU is 0-5 against the District 8 field. They have been swept by Pekin, losing 8-2 and 16-0. The Wolves have fallen 15-3 to Cardinal, 17-0 to Highland and 9-0 to IMS.

The Wolves have eight more games left before the end of the season. Their only victory so far was a 13-7 win over Louisa-Muscatine. Dawson Berthold and Jacob Ford each had three RBIs in that game.

The team that comes out of District 8 will play the winner of District 9 in the Substate 4 championship. Calmus-Wheatland, Easton Valley, Lisbon, Lone Tree, Marquette Catholic, Midland, Prince of Peace Prep and Springville make up the other side of the substate. According to the latest rankings by the Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association, there are no ranked teams in Substate 4.