SEISC releases all-conference list

Tigers, Wolves lead Henry County wave with six players each, WACO gets four

GTNS file photo

Winfield-Mt. Union’s Kayla Edwards (pictured) was named to the SEISC North Division
GTNS file photo Winfield-Mt. Union’s Kayla Edwards (pictured) was named to the SEISC North Division

The Southeast Iowa Super Conference has released its all-conference list for the 2018 season. Henry County was represented well, with 16 players from the three schools being named.

Winfield-Mt. Union and New London led the way with six honorees each. W-MU had three first-teamers, one second-teamer and two honorable mentions in the North Division. New London had one on the first team in the South Division, three on the second team, and two on the third team.

WACO had two second-teamers on the South Division list, and picked up two honorable mentions as well.

The Player of the Year in the North Division was Mediapolis junior Helaina Hillyard. Mediapolis coach Erin Steffener won Coach of the Year. In the South Division, West Burlington’s Sydney Marlow won Player of the Year, and Matt Zeitler of Van Buren won Coach of the Year.

Listed below is the full list of all-conference honorees for the SEISC.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Hitters: Helaina Hillyard (11), Mediapolis (POY); Mia Graber (11), Iowa Mennonite; Ruthie Jahn (11), Mediapolis; Jenna Buffington (10), Winfield-Mt. Union; Alyson Stokes (12), Highland; Ellie Ledger (12), Pekin. Setters: Maya Johnson (12), Mediapolis; Kayla Edwards (10), Winfield-Mt. Union. Libero: Suzanna Yoder (12) Iowa Mennonite. Defensive Specialists: Kyndal Townsley (10), Winfield-Mt. Union; Mackenzie Springsteen (11), Mediapolis. Utility: Haley Gambell (12), Pekin.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Hitters: Allison Bainbridge (10), Pekin; Kayla Beenen (11), Columbus; Mariah Pugh (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Denalyn Lanz (11), Wapello; Liana Sweezer (12), Winfield-Mt. Union. Setters: Samantha Miller (12), Iowa Mennonite; Holly Massner (11), Wapello. Libero: Holly Schneider (12), Highland. Defensive Specialist: Emma Milder (10), Columbus; Utility: Rubye Ney, Iowa Mennonite.

SEISC NORTH DIVISION HONORABLE MENTIONS: Taylor Howell (11), Columbus; Angie Byas (12), Columbus; Kristy Thomann (12), Highland; Sarah Schneider (12), Highland; Katelyn Lehman (11), Iowa Mennonite; Whitney Willoz (11), Lone Tree; Kylie Patterson (9), Lone Tree; Mallory Hohenadel (12), Louisa-Muscatine; Maisy Howell (11), Louisa-Muscatine. Katilyn Thie (12), Mediapolis; Rachael Kennedy (11), Mediapolis; Erika Coleman (10), Pekin; Kylie Noel (11), Pekin; Gracie Gustison (10), Wapello; Lindsay Massner (9), Wapello; Sabrina Moody (12), Winfield-Mt. Union; Jami Wilkerson (10), Winfield-Mt. Union.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISION FIRST TEAM: Utility: Taylor Boeding (12), Holy Trinity; Makenna Hall (12), Central Lee. Hitters: Emily Box (12), Holy Trinity; Selena Sayre (11), Van Buren; Sydney Marlow (10), West Burlington (POY); Mya Merschman (10), Central Lee; Addie Pry (11), New London; Iliyah Moore (12), West Burlington. Setters: Zoe Eschman (10), Central Lee; Bailey Jennings (12), West Burlington. Libero: Isabelle Manning (10), Van Buren; Defensive Specialist: Elyse Pothitakis (12), Holy Trinity.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISION SECOND TEAM: Utility: Grace Davidson (11), Van Buren; Abby Wellman (10), Central Lee. Hitters: Kaylor Schulte (12), New London; Isabella Smith (11), Danville; Eryn Anderson (12), Holy Trinity; Taryn Scheuermann (11), Van Buren; Maddie Cloke (11), Cardinal. Setters: Kristen Rohdy (12), New London; Logan Schmitt (11), Van Buren; Laney Graber (11), WACO. Libero: Chloe Coleman (12), New London. Defensive Specialist: Rachel Lewman (11), Cardinal; Aubri Garnsey (10), WACO.

SEISC SOUTH DIVISION HONORABLE MENTION: Rylie Todd (11), Notre Dame; Hope Ward (11), Notre Dame; Meghan Hopp (9), Central Lee; Andrea Benner (11), Central Lee; Kristen Conley (12), WACO; Nadiyah Brown (12), WACO; Ashlee Duerksen (12), Danville; Teagan Kruse (11), Danville; Mya Lawlor (12), Holy Trinity; Kassi Randolph (9), Holy Trinity; Madison Bartholomew (11), Van Buren; Chloe Davidson (11), Van Buren; Kadence Johnson (10), West Burlington; Alyssa Dameron (10), West Burlington; Kiya Chapin (10), Cardinal; Maddy Langford (11), Cardinal; Alexa Wenger (11), New London; Kyra Linkin (10), New London.