Ryon leads MP girls to win, Mertens takes boys? race

By Andy Krutsinger,

Mt. Pleasant News


FT. MADISON ? It was a good day for Mt. Pleasant cross-country on Thursday. The Panther girls won the Ft. Madison meet with 42 points, beating all other Southeast Conference opponsents in the process. The boys placed third with 83 points and both squads had individual first-place finishers.

Abby Ryon led the girls to victory with a time of 19:15.4, outlasting Fairfield?s Ashley Bloomquist by almost a full minute. Bloomquist crossed in 20:11.4.

Including Ryon, the Panther girls had four runners finish in the top four. Maggie Jennings was seventh, in 22:16.2. Cristina Carthey placed ninth, in 22:20.1, and Claire Holtkamp was 10th, in 22:41.4.

Kendall Dascher sneaked into the top 15 with a 15th-place time of 23:19.9. Abby Blint placed 19th, in 23:59.9, and Liz Perry made it seven Panthers in the top 25 with a 25th-place 25:25.

On the JV side, Monroe Swain finished 33rd overall (including varsity runners). Jessi Andrew was 37th. Aurora Vansickel placed 38th. Abby Jalas was 44th. Jenna Gilmore placed 45th, and Francis Bittle was 61st.

Cody Mertens won the boys? side by quite a large margin as well, finishing in 16:15, which topped second-place Tovar Tevin of Muscatine by 43 seconds. Dalton Moyle placed 11th overall, crossing the tape in 18:05.

Drake Snavely finished 24th, with a time of 19:00.2. Nick McCormick was 30th, in 19:44.7. Logan White placed 36th, in 19:57.1. Luke Ryon was 46th, in 21:05.2, and Thad Brooks finished 54th, in 22:06.3.

On the JV side,Nate McWilliams was 60th. Garrett Gray and Levi Mills were 62nd and 63rd respectively. Connor Axman finished 66th. Reece Kempker was 70th, and Heath Brooks finished 82nd.