New London is playoff bound

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


NEW LONDON ? It?s official, the New London football team is headed to the postseason.

The Tigers topped Winfield-Mt. Union 44-0 in their homecoming game on Friday night and Tiger fans stayed up late to see Iowa High School Athletic Association officially put New London into the Class A bracket as a wildcard.

The Tigers were put in a four-team pod that includes two district opponents from this year. New London will open up their postseason at Lynnville-Sully and the winner of that game will take on either Pekin or Hudson for a shot at the UNI-dome.

In the game itself, the Tigers scored 22 points in the first quarter and 14 more in the second to lead 36-0 at the half. New London added one more score in the third quarter to end the scoring at 44-0.

Isaac McSorley was 5-7 passing the ball in the win, throwing for 112 yards and two touchdowns. He also lead the team in rushing, running for 80 yards and a score.

Dallas Bell caught two passes for 92 yards and two touchdowns, and also rushed for 29 yards. Keontae Luckett had 44 yards and two touchdowns.

The defense is was led by Darrin Hill and Javis Krieger, who each had five tackles. Mason Porter had one fumble recovery for the Tigers? only takeaway.

New London?s special teams scored yet another touchdown in the win. Keontae Luckett returned a punt 60-yards to the house.

W-MU was led by freshman running back Andrew Brady, who ran for 39 yards. Quarterback Christian Gerot rushed for 13 yards, but was held to negative yards passing.

Juanito Piper had seven tackles to lead the Wolves? defense. Keegan Atkinson was second on the team with four.

The Wolves ended the year 0-9 but will bring the vast majority of their team back next fall.

New London will play their first round game at Lynnville-Sully on Friday, Oct. 27, at 7 p.m. All first round games are scheduled to begin at the same time, and the full list of matchups can be found below, with the home team listed first.


West Sioux, Hawarden (9-0) vs. Sioux Central (7-2)

Bishop Garrigan (9-0) vs. West Hancock (6-3)

Southwest Valley (9-0) vs. Gelhen Catholic (7-2)

Council Bluffs St. Albert (8-1) vs. Westwood (7-2)

Wapsie Vally (9-0) vs. Gladbrook-Reinbeck (8-1)

Saint Angsar (9-0) vs. East Buchanan (8-1)

Lynnville-Sully (9-0) vs. New London (6-2)

Hudson (9-0) vs. Pekin (8-1)