MPCSD students chosen for Opus Honor Choir

Four Mt. Pleasant Community School District music students have been chosen for the 2017 Opus Honor Choir, with two others named as alternates.

Andrew Rauenbuehler, an 8th-grader, was picked for the 7th-8th grade boys choir, and Natalie McCormick, a 6th-grader, was selected to the 5th-6th grade mixed choir. Named to the 9th grade choir were Katie McCormick and Evelyn Nygren, with Kionna Parrish and Drake Snavely chosen as alternates.

Over 3,500 students were nominated by their directors for 640 positions in the four Opus Honor Choirs. Selections were made by means of a recorded audition.

The Iowa Choral Directors Association will sponsor the 32nd annual Opus Honor Choir on Thursday, Nov. 16 at Iowa State University in Ames.