MP wrestling team moves to 5-0

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


The Mt. Pleasant wrestlers are off to a red hot start to begin the 2017-18 season. The Panthers topped Keokuk 52-12 to open Southeast Conference play with a win, and made it a 2-0 night with a 45-28 victory over Benton Community.

Mt. Pleasant was led by Dalton Bass, who picked up two pins on the night. Corbin Broeker, Brayden Ackles, Garrett Bocker, Avante Henley and Nate Wallace all had one pin, to give the Panthers seven total.

Most of the guys wrestled real well,? Panther head coach Anthony Blint said after the meet. ?We wrestled a lot better today on our feet than we did last week, so that is an improvement. On bottom, we still need to work on some stuff.?

Mt. Pleasant moved to 5-0 with the two wins and will have a quick turnaround before heading to Grinnell on Saturday, Dec. 9, at 10 a.m.

Full results for the two Mt. Pleasant dual wins can be found below.

Mt. Pleasant 52 vs. Keokuk 12: 160: Garrett Boecker dec. by Dlan Jeffers (8-4). 170: James DeMeyer wins by forfeit. 182: Brennen Bender wins by forfeit. 195: Zach Beason major dec. Austin Tibbits (14-3). 220: Dalton Bass pins Michael Glasscock (2:40). 285: Henry Lutovsky pinned by Jerry Glen (0:48). 106: Double forfeit. 113: Double forfeit. 120: Corbin Broeker pins Tres Merydith (3:18). 126: Brayden Ackles pins Blaze Fisher (0:53). 132: Tyler Raub wins by forfeit. 138: Avante Henley dec. by Matt Wyatt (4-3). 145: Nate Wallace wins by forfeit. 152: Jaden Davis pins Corey Skinner (1:39).

Mt. Pleasant 45 vs. Benton Community 28: 182: Brennen Bender dec. Hunter Shaw (4-0). 195: Zach Beason pins Zacharia Crawford (1:29). 220: Dalton Bass pins Easton Werner (5:48). 285: Henry Lutovsky pinned by Bryce Timmerman (2:21). 106: Double forfeit. 113: Corbin Broeker wins by forfeit. 120: Brayden Ackles loses by major dec. to Wyatt Bieschke (12-2). 126: Tyler Raub pinned by Hunter Northup (0:54). 132: Conner Coleman pinned by Austin Timmerman (0:39). 138: Avante Henley pins Austin Ross (0:33). 145: Nate Wallace pins Tyler Miller (1:01). 152: Jaden Davis pinned by Christian Atkinson (time not given). 160: Garrett Bocker pins Brody Sheer (2:14). 170: James DeMeyer wins by forfeit.