MP wrestling gets third at Southern Iowa Classic

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


FAIRFIELD ? The Mt. Pleasant wrestling team was in Fairfield on Saturday for the Southern Iowa Classic. The Panthers finished third place in the tournament, scoring 157 points.

Ft. Madison placed first out of the 12 teams competing. The Panthers did finish higher than the rest of the SEC, with Washington finishing 4th with 126 points, Keokuk placing seventh with 90 points and Fairfield finishing 10th with 83 points.

Mt. Pleasant had seven top-three finishes on the day. The Panthers had one first place finish, five second-places and one third.

Dalton Bass picked up the lone Panther championship at 220 lbs. Bass got a bye in the first round, pinned Keokuk?s Michael Glasscock in 3:10 and topped Knoxville?s Chase Bellon 9-7 to get to the first-place match.

In the 220 lbs. championship, Bass took on Tanner Murphy of Washington. The two grapplers had to go to overtime where Bass won in a sudden victory, 3-1.

Corbin Broeker (106 lbs.), Brayden Ackles (113 lbs.), James DeMeyer (170 lbs.), Brennen Bender (182 lbs.) and Zach Beason (195 lbs.) all finished second place at their respective weights.

Broeker had two pins to get to the championship round. He pinned Clarke?s Max Maiden in 3:01 and made quick work of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont?s Caydn Hill, getting the fall in 0:29. In the first-place match, Broeker was pinned by Centerville?s Matthew Lewis, in 1:19.

Ackles won via major decision over Ft. Madison?s Mason Schau in the quarterfinal. He made it to the first-place match with a 6-2 decision over Jonah Cooper in the semifinals. Trestin Sales of EBF knocked Ackles off in the first place match on a 16-4 major decision.

DeMeyer pinned EBF?s Mason Roberts in the 170 lbs. quarterfinals, getting the fall in 44 seconds. DeMeyer moved on to the championship with a 6-1 sudden victory over Jonathan Bair of Clarke, but was upended on an 8-3 decision in the championship by Washington?s Tristin Westphal-Edwards.

Bender?s pinned Clarke?s Taven Floyd in 5:06, in the quarterfinals. He moved on to the first-place match with a 15-2 major decision over Nyan Baker of Knoxville, but was pinned in 21 seconds against Washington?s Collin Murphy for the championship.

After a first-round bye, Beason pinned Davis County?s Collin Allen in just 17 seconds in the quarterfinals. Beason pinned Ft. Madison?s Alex Lauber in 1:27 to get to the championship. An injury suffered at 4:48 knocked Beason out of the championship match against Knoxville?s Matthew Landsperger.

Nate Wallace finished third place at 145 lbs. He received a first round bye and was knocked off 5-2 in the quarterfinals by Ft. Madison?s Aaron Steffensmeier.

Wallace battled through the consolation round. He got a bye in the second round, took down Centerville?s Tiger Terpstra 9-4 in the third round and topped Albia?s David Morris on a pin in 1:08 to make the third-place match. Wallace knocked off Chariton?s Adrian Hill on a 11-0 major decision to lock up third place.

In other weight classes, Jaden Davis placed fourth at 152 lbs., Garrett Boecker finished fifth at 160 lbs., and the duo of Henry Lutovsky (285 lbs.) and Dalton Moyle (126 lbs.) finished outside of the podium.