IW hosted awards night to honor students

Iowa Wesleyan University held its annual Awards Day on Friday, April 27. The day featured academic, student leadership and service recognitions.

The university recognized students for exemplary achievement in their majors, their leadership on campus and their involvement in the community.

The awards ceremony also included the announcement of the most prestigious student award given annually, the President?s Award.

The President?s Award, presented to a graduating senior, epitomizes a person who consistently demonstrates a responsible and selfless use of talent and leadership throughout his or her undergraduate experience.

Nominees must be high academic achievers who have modeled exemplary academic effort and engagement.

The 2017-2018 President?s Award was presented to Christian Henriksen ?18. Henricksen is the son of John and Robin Henriksen from Mt. Pleasant.

A double major in biology and chemistry with an emphasis in pre-med, he has taken a leadership role on the football field, in the classroom, on campus, and in the community.

He has worked tirelessly to achieve his goals and to improve the world around him.

Jacquez Hall, the recipient of the Tiger Spirit Award, signifies what it means to be an Iowa Wesleyan Tiger by displaying a positive attitude, sportsmanship, spirit and pride.

One nominator said, ?This student truly epitomizes the Tiger Spirit Award as they live their life with gusto, generosity and a commitment to go forth with the Spirit of a Tiger.....always.? Jacquez is a sophomore from Memphis, Tenn.

Student Leader of the Year recipient, Zoie Carney, was recognized as a student who has excelled and exemplified outstanding leadership, service, dedication and has positively impacted growth, culture and change at Iowa Wesleyan University and the community.

From a field of seven nominees, Carney?s quiet leadership, selflessness and absolute dedication to getting any task accomplished won the award. She is a senior from Roscoe, Ill.

Recognized for their unwavering support of Iowa Wesleyan?s internship program, the Henry County Sherriff?s Office, Sherriff McNamee and his team were awarded the Internship Partner of the Year award.

Congratulations to all of our award recipients. To view a complete list of our honorees, please visit