Iowa Wesleyan University honors students past and present

Iowa Wesleyan University held the Athletic Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony on Friday, April 27, to recognize the accomplishments of past and present members of Tiger Athletics. Nearly 350 people gathered in Ruble Arena as IW inducted three new members into the 2018 Hall of Fame Class. Student-athletes were honored for their achievements in the classroom and in their fields of competition.

?The Hall of Fame and Awards Ceremony is always an exciting event for the athletic department. We have the privilege to welcome back outstanding members of Tiger Athletics and recognize them for their accomplishments during their time on campus and in life after IW,? said Derek Zander, Director of Athletics at IW.Charles ?Chuck? Harnisch ?57, Heather Bell Davis ?97, and Mark T. Willis ?70 were inducted as the newest members of the Iowa Wesleyan Athletic Hall of Fame.

Harnisch lettered in football, baseball, and track. He was a member of the 1953 Iowa Conference Championship Football Team.

Bell Davis was a standout on the women?s basketball team. She was a 4x All-Conference recipient and earned Conference Player of the Week multiple times throughout her career. in 1996-97 she served as team captain and was named Most Valuable Player for her team.

Willis lettered in both football and wrestling. He was a First Team All-Conference (Defensive Tackle) recipient in 1969 and was awarded NAIA District 15 All-District Football honors. Willis was named Team MVP by the football coaching staff and team while at Iowa Wesleyan.

Student-Athlete Awards returned to the ceremony this year with Male and Female Scholar Athlete of the Year, Male and Female Athlete of the Year, and the Tiger Service Award.

Christian Henriksen was named Male Scholar Athlete of the Year for his involvement in many organizations on campus, as well as being a member of the football team. Sheridan Gealow was named Female Scholar Athlete of the Year. She is a member of the softball team, as well as a member of the Teacher Education program at Iowa Wesleyan. Grace Alongi received Female Athlete of the Year for her record setting freshman season on the women?s soccer team. She led the women?s soccer team this season with 16 goals scored, which is an Iowa Wesleyan single season record. She also broke the St. Louis Intercollegiate Athletic Conference record of goals scored in a game with seven.

Brock Butler took home the Male Athlete of the Year Award after a stellar senior season. He was a USCAA First Team All-American, as well as SLIAC First Team All-Conference after averaging 27 points per game. He was one of the top offensive threats in the conference this year, leading the league in points scored and made field goals.

Allegra Collette received the Tiger Service Award. She is a member of the volleyball team and is highly involved on campus, as well as in the community. She is a resident advisor, a member of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, and Orientation Crew. Along with the student athlete awards, USCAA National All-Academic and USCAA All-American recipients, and seniors student-athletes were recognized during the ceremony. Darby Massner was recognized for her CoSIDA Academic All-America honors.

Josie Zerrusen was named the recipient of the Lori Williams Wright Award. The award is presented to a senior women?s basketball player who exhibits extraordinary leadership ability, academic success, and athletic ability. This award was first presented in 2012.