Five Henry County wrestlers win Super Conference titles

By Andy Krutsinger, Mt. Pleasant News


COLUMBUS ? The Columbus/Winfield-Mt. Union wrestling team played host to the Southeast Iowa Super Conference championship on Saturday and Henry County took home five of the 14 championships.

Pekin topped the team scores with 170 points. New London placed third with 124 points, Columbus/W-MU was seventh with 106 lbs. and WACO was eighth with 85 points.

New London won two championships with Samuel Loyd taking the 132 lbs. bracket and Javis Krieger winning at 138 lbs. WACO picked up two wins with Jaden Williams taking the 126 lbs. title and Cody Crawford won at 285 lbs. Jared Kadel took home the 106 lbs. title to give Columbus/W-MU a title.

Loyd pinned Van Buren?s Quentin Story in the first round, getting the fall in 2:19. He pinned Zach Hammes of Pekin in 3:26 during the semifinals and closed the day out with an 8-5 decision over Cam Rice of Columbus/W-MU to take home the championship.

Krieger was given a first-round bye to get to the semifinals. He pinned Drake Harbison in 2:51 to get to the championship. In the first-place match, Krieger won via major decision, 12-2 over Highland?s Cory Stewart.

Williams was also given a bye to start the day. He pinned Gage Connor of Louisa-Muscatine in 2:52 to get to the finals and topped Mitchell Moore via a 6-4 decision to take home a first place finish for the Warriors.

Crawford had two pins to win his title at 285 lbs. After a first round bye, Crawford pinned Gabe Hayes of Louisa-Muscatine in 1:22 to get to the championship. He faced Drake Fox of West Burlington-Notre Dame in the first-place match, pinning Fox in 4:56.

Kadel picked up a first-round bye and topped Mediapolis? Jordan Riherd with a pin in 1:16 to make it to the championship match. He faced Colton Meeker of Wapello in the championship and won the high-profile showdown, 8-4, to give the Wildcats their lone first place finish.